I use Flickr for my pictures. I had uploaded a family picture and forgotten to change its permission to “Family,” and hence, when a parent Googled herself (a wise practice), she saw that this picture was coming up in the Google search and people could access the photo. She alerted me, and I corrected the permissions in Flickr. Within a few days, the public could no longer access either the photo or the Flickr page, yet the image’s thumbnail continued to appear in the Google Search. I used the Google Search Remove Outdated Content form to request that Google remove it.
Updated May 29, 2016: Unfortunately, this site no longer works.
Bloggers often link to content with which they disagree or hate to promote. A simple link will, however, increase the undesirable Internet content’s ranking in search engines. Use donotlink.com to create a link which won’t boost the undesirable content’s profile. Here’s the service’s FAQ which gives more info.
It is rumored that Google will begin reducing a site’s rankings in its search results if the site is not mobile friendly. Use Google’s Mobile Friendly Test to check your site.
The websites created by Help Us Get Online pass this test.